From the Desk of Marlowe Granados
From the Desk of Marlowe Granados
We're watching movies
0:00
-31:36

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of From the Desk of Marlowe Granados

We're watching movies

Voice Note: TIFF, anniversary of Happy Hour, my Pomeranian agenda
2

Hello! Voice notes is back for paid subscribers. I’m talking about decorating my new apartment, the new Sabrina Carpenter album, why I’m freelancing again (yes editors, commission me). I’m also talking about why I have PTSD from NYFW from when my book came out in 2021 (I went to the Balenciaga after party for the Met Gala and I accosted Isabelle Huppert and texted my publicist at 2am telling her to send a copy of Happy Hour to the Park Hyatt lmao. This is also the same night I was so starstruck to meet Charli D’Amelio…I’m only starstruck when it’s a Tiktoker.)

I also mention how I love Mcnally Editions. Buy them! Anyone that saves out of print or nearly out of print books is top of my list!

I am doing the sophisticated TIFF movies but I did watch the new Beetlejuice and I have to say it is delightful, although watching it with mushroom chocolate is perhaps not recommended for some of the slimier scenes. I love Tim Burton’s love for Monica Bellucci.

The film I’m in is premiering tonight at TIFF here’s the trailer below (I make a very cute cameo wearing one of my favourite coats). Obviously I only said yes to being in this film so I could get a photo on the red carpet in an outfit. I love Toronto film! I love being from Toronto!

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to From the Desk of Marlowe Granados to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

From the Desk of Marlowe Granados
From the Desk of Marlowe Granados
The new home of my advice column 'Designs for Living', essays on things I adore (Drinking Alone, My First Apartment), whims, recommendations, glamour. Author of Happy Hour (2021).
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Marlowe Granados